Encyclopedia of Sociocultural and Cognitive Evolution

Paul Marsden (PaulMarsden@email.msn.com)
Fri, 11 Dec 1998 12:36:22 -0000

From: "Paul Marsden" <PaulMarsden@email.msn.com>
To: "memetics" <memetics@mmu.ac.uk>
Subject: Encyclopedia of Sociocultural and Cognitive Evolution
Date: Fri, 11 Dec 1998 12:36:22 -0000

A few people have been e-mailing me about recommended references sources.
One good on-line source is the MIT encyclopedia of Culture, Cognition and
Evolution, edited by Sperber and Hirschfeld. It has excellent summaries of
research, and key texts. The encyclopaedia is not yet in paper format, it
will be out in May 1999 ($149). Online version is free, and available for
consultation now at

http://mitpress.mit.edu/MITECS/culture.html

The encyclopaedia has the following entries by these BIG hitters:

INTRODUCTION
Altruism George C. Williams (grb@life.bio.sunysb.edu)
Animal Communication Marc Hauser and Peter Marler (hauser@wjh.harvard.edu)
Artifacts And Civilization Denise Schmandt-Besserat (dsb@mail.utexas.edu)
Attribution Theory Mike Morris (mwmorris@stanford.edu)
Boas Elvin Hatch (hatch@alishaw.sscf.ucsb.edu
Cognitive Anthropology Ronald Casson (fcasson@alpha.CC.OBERLIN.EDU)
Cognitive Archaeology Steven J. Mithen (S.J.Mithen@reading.ac.uk)
Cognitive Artifacts Ed Hutchins (hutchins@cogsci.ucsd.edu)
Dissonance Mark Leper and Thomas Shultz (lepper@Psych.stanford.edu)
Cognitive Ergonomics Francesco Cara (cara@poly.polytechnique.fr)
Cognitive Ethology Carolyn Ristau (car31@columbia.edu))
Color Categorization Paul Kay (kay@cogsci.Berkeley.EDU)
Comparative Psychology Michael W. Tomasello (tomas@social-sci.ss.emory.edu)
Cooperation And Competition Robin Dunbar (rimd@liverpool.ac.uk)
Cultural Consensus Theory A. Kimball Romney and William Batchelder
(akronmey@aris.ss.uci.edu
Cultural Evolution Pascal Boyer (pascal.boyer@mrash.fr)
Cultural Psychology Richard Shweder (rshd@midway.uchicago.edu)
Cultural Relativism Bradd Shore (antbs@anthro.emory.edu)
Cultural Symbolism Pascal Boyer (pboyer@DOCSRVR.mrash.fr)
Cultural Variation James Boster (jboster@Dvmsa.oac.uci.edu)
Darwin Bob Richards (r-richards@uchicago.edu)
Domain-Specificity Susan Gelman (gelman@stargate.rs.itd.umich.edu)
Dominance in Animal Social Groups Marc Bekoff (Marc.Bekoff@Colorado.EDU)
Ecological Validity Michael Cole (mcole@ucsd.edu)
Economics and Cognitive Science Eldar Shafir (eldar@clarity.Princeton.EDU)
Ethnopsychology Geoffrey White (white@hawaii.edu)
Ethology Peter Marler (prmaler@ucdavis.edu)
Evolutionary Psychology Leda Cosmides and John Tooby
(cosmides@psych.ucsb.edu)
Figurative Language Raymond W. Gibbs (gibbs@cats.ucsc.edu)
Folk Biology Scott Atran(atran@poly.polytechnique.fr)
Human Navigation Herbert Pick (herbpick@ux.cis.umn.edu)
Human Universals Donald Brown (brownd@sscf.ucsb.edu)
Language and Communication Susan Duncan (deng@ccp.uchicago.edu)
Language and Culture Steve Levinson (levinson@mpi.nl)
Levi-Strauss Marcel Hnaff (mhenaff@UCSD.EDU)
Linguistic Relativity Hypothesis John Lucy (jlucy@MPI.NL)
Machiavellian Intellignece Hypothesis Andrew Whiten (aw2@st-and.ac.uk)
Magic and Superstition Paul Rosin and Carol Nemeroff
(rozin@cattell.psych.upenn.edu)
Malinowski Christina Toren (Christina.Toren@brunel.ac.uk)
Metaphor and Culture Naomi Quinn (nquinn@socsci.duke.edu)
Motivation and Culture Claudia Strauss (strauss@socsci.duke.edu)
Naive Sociology Lawrence Hirschfeld (lhirsch@umich.edu)
Numeracy and Culture Yukari Okamoto (yukari@edstar.gse.ucsb.edu
Primate Cognition Marc Hauser (hauser@wjh.harvard.edu)
Primate Language Sue Savage-Rumbaugh and Duane Rumbaugh
(esavage-rumbaugh@gsu.edu)
Rational Choice Theory Jean-Pierre Dupuy (jpdupuy@poly.polytechnique.fr)
Religious Ideas and Practices E. Thomas Lawson (e.thomas.lawson@wmich.edu)
Sapir Judith Irvine (irvine@binah.cc.brandeis.edu)
Semiotics and Cognition Patrizia Violi (violi@dsc.unibo.it)
Sexual Attraction, Evolutionary Psychology of Randy Thornhill
(rthorn@unm.edu)
Situated Cognition and Learning Colleen Seifert seifert@psych.lsa.umich.edu
Social Cognition In Animals Dorothy Cheney and Robert Seyfarth
(cheney@cattell.psych.upenn.edu)
Social Play Behavior Marc Bekoff (bekoffm@spot.colorado.edu)
Sociobiology Robin Dunbar (rimd@liverpool.ac.uk)
Stereotyping John Dovidio (jdovidio@center.colgate.edu)
Technology And Human Evolution Francoise Audouze (audouze@cnrs-bellevue.fr)
Vygotsky James V. Wertsch (jwertsch@artsci.wustl.edu)
Writing Systems Geoffrey Sampson (geoffs@cogs.susx.ac.uk)

Paul Marsden
Graduate Research Centre in the Social Sciences
University of Sussex
e-mail PaulMarsden@msn.com
tel/fax (44) (0) 117 974 1279

Journal of Memetics - Evolutionary Models of Information Transmission:
http://www.cpm.mmu.ac.uk/jom-emit/

===============================================================
This was distributed via the memetics list associated with the
Journal of Memetics - Evolutionary Models of Information Transmission
For information about the journal and the list (e.g. unsubscribing)
see: http://www.cpm.mmu.ac.uk/jom-emit